September 14, 2011

MVP Profile: Andy Robustelli, 1962

Defensive End, New York Giants

Age: 37 (Dec. 6)
12th season in pro football, 7th with Giants
College: Arnold
Height: 6’1” Weight: 235

An obscure player from a small college, Robustelli was chosen by the Los Angeles Rams in the 19th round of the 1951 NFL draft. He made an immediate impression in training camp and moved into the starting lineup as a rookie as the Rams went on to win the league title. An outstanding pass rusher, he was a consensus first-team All-Pro and Pro Bowl selection in 1953 and ’55. The Rams traded him to the Giants following the 1955 season and Robustelli became a cornerstone of the defense, gaining selection to five Pro Bowls over the next six seasons and again gaining consensus first-team All-Pro honors in 1956, ’58, ’59, and ’60. The Giants, known for their strong defense, won the Eastern Conference title four times between 1956 and ’61 and came away with one NFL Championship. Robustelli became a player/coach in 1962.

1962 Season Summary
Appeared in all 14 games
(Bracketed numbers indicate league rank in Top 20)

Sacks – N/A
Interceptions – 0
Fumble recoveries – 2

Pass Receiving
Receptions – 1
Yards – 26
TDs – 0

Robustelli caught one pass as the result of a fake field goal attempt vs. Cardinals.

Postseason: 1 G (NFL Championship vs. Green Bay)
Sacks – N/A
Interceptions – 0
Int. return yards – 0
TD – 0

Awards & Honors:
NFL Player of the Year: Bert Bell Trophy
2nd team All-NFL: AP, UPI

Giants went 12-2 to place first in the NFL Eastern Conference, ranking fourth in fewest points surrendered (283) and rushing TDs (13). Lost NFL Championship to Green Bay Packers (16-7).

Robustelli remained with the Giants for two more seasons before retiring. He missed one game during his rookie season and never missed another, appearing in a total of 175 regular season games over the course of his career. Robustelli was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Class of 1971.


MVP Profiles feature players who were named MVP or Player of the Year in the NFL, AAFC (1946-49), AFL (1960-69), WFL (1974), or USFL (1983-85) by a recognized organization (Associated Press, Pro Football Writers Association, Newspaper Enterprise Association, United Press International, The Sporting News, Maxwell Club – Bert Bell Award, or the league itself).